Our Curriculum

The Primary School Curriculum in Ireland outlines the what and how of children’s learning for children’s first eight years in school, from Junior Infants to 6th Class. The curriculum aims to:

  • develop each child’s potential to the full
  • encourage a love of learning
  • help children develop skills they will use all their lives.

The curriculum is presented in seven areas, some of which are further subdivided into subjects. These are:

  1. Language: Gaeilge (Irish) and English
  2. Mathematics
  3. Social, environmental and scientific education (SESE): history, geography and science
  4. Arts education: visual arts, music and drama
  5. Physical education
  6. Social, personal and health education (SPHE)
  7. Religious education

The Primary School Curriculum: Introduction  provides more information.  See www.curriculumonline.ie

Translate »